New Job

I started a new job yesterday (yes, I have been going through transition after transition after transition the last few months and no, I don’t like it). The first day was… good. It was hours of meetings, but they were really interesting because my boss and the people he meets with know what they’re doing and are very good at it. They were talking about a project (company) they developed, then one talked about a couple of other projects he had going and they decided to take them on no sweat, even though it would almost double the amount of money they would have to raise this “round”  – we’re talking about millions of Euros, here. It’s exciting and intimidating and I’m really looking forward to working on these things!

On the other hand, it should come as no surprise that I have nothing in common with old, rich religious entrepreneurs. When in the first meeting, they were laughing about the close call one of them had in getting home just 10 min before “Shabbos” came in, I thought….. nothing. I had nothing for that conversation. I have never even traveled for work, let alone thought about the Jewish holy day of rest in relation to travel, except in how it affects the bus schedule to and from the airport. I suppose I will find common ground, but in the meantime it’s just a little awkward. Gotta love it!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “New Job

  1. imalea

    Love your postings – keep writing!
    neshikot,
    ima

Leave a Reply

