Good music can make even the worst times better

One of my best friends has moved away, gone to pursue his dreams. I know he’s doing the right thing, but I can’t help being incredibly selfishly sad for my own personal loss. He is a great, great friend and even though I know we’ll stay in touch, it won’t be the same as having him around the corner. We had tons of adventures, and he was really there for me. I haven’t had many friends who have been so committed to the friendship, actively protective and loyal. Even though we could be quite bad influences on each other (hehehe), it was always in good fun. And way to go out with a bang! We went out for a last hurrah on Friday night, a night that will live on in all of our memories for a looooooooong time. I’m still recovering!

He knows how much he means to me, and there’s not much more to say about my being in mourning for the loss of his presence in my day-to-day life. It just sucks, is all.

In the midst of all that, I went to the most amazing concert last night. The Jerusalem Festival, held in East Jerusalem by an organization dedicated to revitalizing Palestinian arts and culture as well as building connections with other cultures, is a little-known (in West Jerusalem) but really cool event. We saw LadySmith Black Mambazo, a traditional Zulu South African a capella group that has a great message. They took the opportunity to promote dialogue on the road to peace, which meant more because it was coming from people who were on the other side of a similar conflict in their country. They were wise and funny and fun and it was such a blast! They were dancing and goofing around the whole time, as if they just decided to sing a few songs while hanging out on stage. And yet they are incredible.

The concert was held at the Tomb of the Kings, the ancient burial site of Queen Helen of Mesopotamia and her family. It is beautiful, and you can see a little in the background of the picture. That’s all real stuff.

It isn’t the same as having my friend, but it sure was nice.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

