Global Warming my a**

It snowed in Jerusalem for a large part of the day today (ok the morning). I woke up to fuzzy flakes floating around outside, although they melted as soon as they hit the ground. I couldn’t stop staring – I kept going to the window every 5 minutes to check that it was real. I had no idea what to do – it’s the second time in my life that I’ve seen it snow! I decided to do the obvious: take pictures and text all my friends at 7:30 am.

Questions I had: So you use an umbrella, I guess? What should I wear? Are schools/offices going to be closed? (again, the snow wasn’t even staying frozen. and I live about 2 blocks from work – no excuse not to show up) How cold is it outside now? Are stores and stuff still going to be open? and so on.

By the time I made it out of the house, I was bundled up in a tank top, long sleeved shirt, sweater, jacket, down vest, 2 pairs of gloves, a hat and boots. The superhero boots, in case you were wondering. And I took my umbrella.

It was neat for an hour or two – at one time I ran into another office, jumping up and down and pointing at the window like a kid because it was coming down something fierce. But then I realized that it is just really, really cold rain. Give me sunshine and a heatwave any day.

SPRING, WHERE ARE YOU? I THOUGHT THE EARTH WAS GETTING WARMER… I didn’t realize I signed up to live in a place that snowed! I don’t know if I would have made that decision if I had realized it! Although I might have thought, in my infinite sillyness, that it would be fun. Cold does not equal fun.

Anyhow, that’s the news from Jerusalem. Oh, and Hamas and Fatah seem to have taken a step closer to a unified government. But who cares about that when there’s snow? (if you can’t feel the sarcasm, go away.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

