Giving Thanks

So today is Thanksgiving, probably my favorite US holiday. It is the one time I will admit (maybe even a little proudly) that I’m American – bring on the turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy, cranberry sauce and pumpkin pie!

But this year, I didn’t get the day off work. I’m not eating turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy, cranberry sauce and pumpkin pie. I don’t have any American friends to commiserate with over past overindulgences at the Thanksgiving dinner table or fun family fiascoes. I showed up at work this morning like any other Thursday and worked (more than) a full day – life as usual sans holiday.

Even though I don’t get to feast, I would still like to give thanks. I am grateful for my friends and family (in the US and Israel), for my health, for employment so that I had somewhere to show up this morning (we won’t even get into the whole I pretend to work and they pretend to pay me thing). I am thankful for this experience that is my life, and that I am able to reconnect with my Israeli roots while maintaining connections with my home in Cali. I do wish I was eating turkey and stuffing and mashed potatoes and gravy and cranberry sauce and pumpkin pie, but I am also grateful for what I do have.

 Okay, enough philosophising. Happy turkey day!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Giving Thanks

  1. imale

    I Thank You too, my Mik, for being in my life; for being perfectly sweet and funny and deep at times… and a whole lot more.
    If you where here I might even cook a full Thanksgiving dinner… I’ve learned, now I need the crowd.
    Love you hamon – ima

Leave a Reply

